Resolutions

With 2009 just around the corner, I’d like to take a moment to talk about my new year’s resolutions. Thinking back over the years, I can only think of 1 New Year’s resolution that I was able to keep. That was the year I decided to not stop smoking. Granted, I think I quit a year or so after that. This past year, I made a commitment to lose weight and managed to drop about 25 pounds. Yay me! This coming year, becoming healthier tops my list.

1 – Become healthier. I’d like to reach my goal weight by December of 2009. Just 25 more pounds to go.
2 – Spend less. I’m going to give myself an allowance of 100 dollars a month to spend on incidentals. This does not count for food, or shelter, or going to concerts.
3 – Save more. I tend to get at least a $25 bonus at work each month. Sometimes it’s as high as $100. I’m going to calculate the after-tax value of that bonus, take it out of the bank, and put it in an envelope. At the end of 2009 I hope to have enough saved to purchase an awesome new laptop.
4 – Knit and sew exclusively from my stash. This resolution ends when I run out of yarn and fabric. In the next week I’m going to calculate my yarn yardage, and update my project list. Some things will be donated to charity. Purchasing items needed to complete a project, buttons, elastic, if I run out of yarn, does not count. However it will come out of item #2.

Leave a Reply

