Over It

If I were to describe how I feel about the current weather in Portland, Oregon I would do it with bad word art:

Jane
___________
it

I am over it.

A huge storm came through last week and shut down most of the town. I got to miss two days of work, which was a plus. My car hasn’t moved from its spot since last Friday. To get to work, I’ve been taking the bus.

Christmas eve wasn’t bad, I managed to get a ride home with the backyard neighbors.

Today sucked.

I got off work at 3 and hiked to the MAX. Tried to buy a ticket from each of the Machines at the Lloyd center – none would take bills. Tried to buy a ticket at the next stop west – none would take bills. Had a minor screaming fit at the machine, jumped back on MAX sobbing – possibly in front of a co-worker. Tried two machines at the Convention Center – neither would take bills. Began sobbing uncontrollably. Had a shitty day at work too, by the way. Was given a hug by a gutterpunk. Gutterpunk had magic powers because the next machine I tried took bills (8th times the charm?).

Got on MAX to 82nd ave. Get off, step in huge puddle and soak foot. There’s about a million people at the bus stop, hang out for a bit… two busses come by but but were #33 (which doesn’t run on 82nd), realized there’s no way I’m ever going to get on the bus and walk to the next stop North. 6 # 72 busses go by in the opposite direction, but none for me. Wait there 1/2 an hour to 45 minutes. FINALLY get on a bus.

I go sit in the back, by the window where I’m not likely to get bumped as much. People are all bitchy. The bus goes up to the overcrowded stop and the bus fills up.

For the next 50 minutes, I’m in gangstaville. I’m surrounded by 15 and 16 year old punks talking about how they’re going to Clackamas Town Center to “boost” stuff. I’ve never heard so much swearing and yelling in my life. I’m totally street now. I’m gonna get with my bitches and roll, or something.

I fear for the younger generation.

So a trip that usually takes me 20 minutes took me 2 hours. My feet were frozen when I got home and I just don’t wanna go anywhere or do anything for the rest of the evening.

I’m going to have some dinner, watch a movie, get my drink on, and go to bed.

… ain’t nothin’ but bitches and hos …

Leave a Reply

