Portland, Oregon and a Sloe Gin Fizz

If that ain’t love, tell me what isa

I knew that if I looked long enough, I’d find it. A bar in Portland that serves a Sloe Gin Fizz in a pitcher (to go?)

The place is the Gold Dust Meridian. It’s on Hawthorne around 35th or so. I don’t know what the place used to be. I can tell you it’s diagonally across the street from Euphoria Nails and Spa (which lives up to it’s name).

Anyway, the drink is called the Loretta Lynn, and when I saw it on the menu I had to try it. I did not get the pitcher (all 22oz of it), instead I got a personal sized glass. It wasn’t bad, wasn’t great. Then again, I’m not much of a gin fan.

The bartender tried to tell me why it’s called the Loretta Lynn… like I need that explained to me.

Also on the liquor menu: The Brandon Roy, which I imagine would be a Rob Roy. But Portland style.

Leave a Reply

