what does yarn taste like?

Last Sunday, Jen and I went to an Artfibers Yarntasting. Its like a wine tasting, or a tupperware party, when you get to try out all kinds of wonderful yarn. Jason started referring to it as the “Scarfmitzvah.”

making swatches in the sun

making swatches in the sun

I tried about 15 different yarns with all kinds of wild fibers. Yak, Mulberry Silk, Angora, Alpaca, Wild Harvested Silk Bourette, Mohair, you name it. I was picking yarns to swatch based on what they were made of since I generally only use merino wool or cotton when I knit.

In the end, I fell in love with Carezza 17 which is Silk/ Super Baby Alpaca/ Superkid Mohair (30/30/40%). I’ve ordered enough to make Tempest but with longer sleeves and no stripes.

extreme close up: Carezza 17 is in the middle

extreme close up: Carezza 17 is in the middle

Now I just need my new needle set to hurry and show up. I love knit picks, but their shipping sucks ass. I ordered a week ago, its possibly going to be another week before they get here. My fingers are itching to get to work!

Leave a Reply

