Scenes From A Cube Farm

Its been a rough week at my office. Month End fell on a Monday which is traditionally a HUGE mail day. We finished posting everything at 2:15. The last two hours were a constant barrage of e-mails that pretty much boiled down to “WORK FASTER!” We got everything posted, but didn’t make the monthly goal and aren’t getting as big a bonus as we usually do. I really shouldn’t complain, I’m happy to just get a bonus. Hell, I’m happy to have a job.

So for the last two days I’ve been doing a ridiculous project, going through a HUGE stack of denials and figuring out which ones need to be posted. Out of the two inches of the stack, I found SEVEN that need to be posted. My total transactions for the day? 40.

Needless to say, I’m in a funk. So, I’m going to share what I hated about working in an office today:

1- microwave popcorn is not now, nor has it ever, been part of a balanced breakfast. Plus it makes the entire office smell (especially when burned) and will give you cancer.

2- While Mac and Cheese is tummy lovin’, frozen dinner mac and cheese smells like ass too.

3- If you’ve been doing a job for seven months, you should have a handle on it. Not the guy that sits next to me. I’m sure he was a great accountant, but when the accounting department downsized he came to work in my department. My job is not hard, sometimes you have to make judgment calls. This guy can’t do it on his own and has to bring over the woman with the annoying voice who keeps playing with her (fake) hair and is LOUD and won’t shut up. Seriously, dude, grow a pair. There are only so many ways you can post something and it can always be fixed later if its wrong. Be a man, not a mouse.

4- Cutting your nails is a personal and private moment and should only be done in the comfort of your own home.

5- I worry that the guy who sits on the other side of me doesn’t eat nearly enough grease.

I’m just fed up right now. I’m looking forward to a three day weekend. I’m also going to take a week off sometime in october.

Leave a Reply

