Me Made May

Or as I like to call it: May’d by Me.

I’m going to be a participant in “Me Made May.” The basic premise is: during the month of May you wear nothing but clothes you made yourself. Underwear, socks, and shoes don’t count – but you can if you want. I don’t have nearly enough socks and shoes to get me through the month.

There’s a full on version – Full outfits every day, and a light version – just an article of clothing you made and everything else can be store bought. I think I’m going to aim for a combo of the two versions and see what wins out in the end.

I think I need to lay down some ground rules before I begin:

1- In the month of May I will wear more complete outfits that I made myself than outfits I partially made. Since there are 31 days in May, at the end I should wear 16 full outfits and 15 partial outfits

2- T-shirts. I love love love a T-shirt and not wearing them for a month would be way hard. So, if I printed it myself it counts. If I made it from a piece of jersey it counts. If I took a shirt that was way too big for me, cut it apart and reassembled it; it counts. Get ready to see me in a rotation of that old Minus 5, Joel Przybilla. I heart Rudy, Girl Trouble, and Tripwires T-shirts. I think I could stand to redo that ancient REM one that’s wider than it is tall and J’s old Sebastapol shirt for variety.

3- Gym Clothes don’t count. I’m not going to make clothes specifically so I can get gross in them.

4- having taken a pair of scissors to those ugly ass work shirts doesn’t count. In fact, maybe I should make “Don’t wear one of those ugly ass work shirts” part of the challenge. Maybe I’ll give myself a one-day get out of jail free card on that one. You never know when you’re going to roll out of bed five minutes before you have to leave for work.

We’ll see what happens. I was looking at my closet this mornign and I have a lot of dresses to get me started, plus the three or four new ones coming down the line. I’m optimistic, and I can’t wait to start

One response to “Me Made May

  1. May’d by Me definitely has a ring to it. 🙂

    Wonderful post and humor. I’ll be watching your progress in May (I’m signed up for the lite version). I can’t wait to see your t-shirts! I’m altering some tees and starting to sew knits because I definitely want a few for May.

Leave a Reply

