A diet, defined.

From the Greek Diaita – meaning way of life.

I don’t really consider myself to be “On a diet” rather I think of it as “this is what I eat.” Over the last year it’s been a steady diaita of protein, slow digesting carbohydrates, and vegetables. I’ve ignored two food groups almost entirely: fruits (thinking that sugar is sugar and it doesn’t matter how I put it in my face, I can’t handle it either way) and grains (yes, bread it bad – but all grains can’t be bad, right?)

I will say that I enjoy 90% of what I put in my face, and I’m fine with what I can have and can’t have. The more I read of that drop 10 book, the more I want to try it. I’ve been on this steady Slow Carb diet for a year. I wonder if it’s time to shake things up a bit and give another meal plan a try. It can’t hurt, right? If I fail then I go right back to the slow carb, right? So, I’m thinking October will be Drop 10 challenge month.

In the mean time, today I had:

  • breakfast shake
  • standard eggs (minus the hot sauce because we’re out at home)
  • some nuts
  • and apple with almond butter (delicious!)
  • and for dinner, a chicken stir fry

I’ve decided to not do Jello free week this week, because Jello is delicious. Instead, I’m going to go for a fiber bomb week and try to eat 30 grams of fiber a day. I’m also dropping the “Splenda only every other day” aspect because I think the lack of splenda made my ahem, digestive output, less.

 

Leave a Reply

