Slow down there, shotgun.

My gym is closed for two whole weeks which makes me sad. One of the main things I love about my gym is it’s so close to my house. I could throw a rock and hit it, if I could aim and throw a bit harder. So I have to go to one in East Portland on the way home from work. The fact that I’m even still going is pretty commendable because I hate new places and situations.

Yesterday I went and they only have 4 elliptical machines. The one I was using yesterday was different than any of the ones at my gym. I think it was older. When you grabbed the heart rate sensors, they actually worked and the display showed if you were burning fat or doing cardio.

In my mind, faster has always been better. The higher my heart rate while working out the better. The higher the heart rate the more calories you burn. It’s a race and I’m going to be the one to win that race. Yesterday I figured out that fat is burned if you run slower. So that’s what I’m going to try to do for the duration of the time I have to go to that gym: slow the fuck down.

Yesterday’s weird-o work schedule made me miss second breakfast. I went straight from my morning shake at 5am to lunch at 11 which was broccoli slaw with chicken and salad. Then at 4, post gym, I had some greek yogurt with kiwi (yum!) and  handful of nuts. Dinner was this soup which was the bomb!

I’ve been re watching the Good Eats episode Live and Let Diet where Alton explanins how he lost 50 pounds eating from four lists. One of the things he covered is breakfast and how he likes a fruit smoothie for breakfast. I decided to follow his lead and turn my breakfast shake today into a smoothie. I added 5 ounces of frozen strawberries and 3 ounces of frozen marionberries toa cup of Almond milk and a scoop of protein powder.

This? Was the bomb!

Leave a Reply

